2016 SoftChalk Lesson Challenge


Thank you to everyone who participated in the 2016 SoftChalk Lesson Challenge! Once again it was YOU who made this challenge a huge success with 65 entries. Without further ado the three winners and six honorable mentions for 2016 are as follows:

First Place Winner
Ethics and Privacy
Innovation Zone
Nova Southeastern University

Subject Matter Expert: Stefanie Carter
Lead Instructional Designer: Joshua Farquharson
Instructional Design Coordinator: Kerrian Gordon
Instructional Design Manager: Loy Campbell
Multimedia Producer: Rachel Abdool
Content Reviewers: NSU Innovation Zone Staff


Second Place Winner
M5L2: RNA and Protein Synthesis Contest
Innovative Learning Environments Department
Clark County School District

Second Place

Third Place Winner
M12 Internet Technologies & Research
Alison Hedrick
Kennesaw State University

Third Place


Honorable Mentions

World History B
Kristi Peacock, Michigan Virtual University

Anatomy & Physiology A
Kristi Peacock, Michigan Virtual University

Standard Precautions and Infection Control
Ryan Walther, El Centro College

Darwin’s Finches Lab
Margaret Gaddis, Colorado Mountain College

Safety and Protection of Minors Tier 2- public
Meghan Resler, Virginia Commonwealth University

World Geography M6L2: Sub-Saharan Africa-Culture
Innovative Learning Environments, Clark County School District


Special thanks to the judges of this years Lesson Challenge:

  • Alli Houston, Senior Development Specialist, Georgia Department of Education
  • Dr. Stephen Holland, Professor, Eastern Iowa Community Colleges and The University of Iowa
  • Gina Jones, Administrative Coordinator, Virtual High School Prince William County Schools
  • Jacqueline C. McNair, Program Coordinator, Health Information Technology, Baltimore City Community College
  • Jillian Jevack, Instructional Designer, Quality Matters
  • Kimberly Loomis, Innovative Projects Coordinator, CCSD
  • Kristin Kurtzworth-Keen, Director, Online TESOL/Bilingual Programs, Canisius College
  • Lisa Cooley, Dean, Mathematics & Science Director, Piedmont Community College
  • Lisa Ferris, Assistant Professor of Instructional Design, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Penny Shriver, Senior Instructor in English, Texas State Technical College
  • Prakash KP, Project Manager, Grade Results, Inc.
  • Shannon Thomas, Associate Professor of Biology, McLennan Community College
  • Sherry Southard, Associate Professor of Legal Studies, Clayton State University
  • Sherry Trier, Instructional Technology Specialist, Northwestern Michigan College
  • Sue Goldman, Staff Development Specialist, State of New Mexico, Environment Department
  • Twila Masaschi, Senior Development Specialist, Georgia Department of Education

Winners from Previous Years:


Start Free Trial