2014 Lesson Challenge

Thank you to everyone who participated in the 2014 SoftChalk Lesson Challenge! The challenge was a huge success with 117 wonderful entries. We’re thrilled to announce the three winners and five honorable mentions for 2014:

1st Place

Introduction to the Human Body
Shannon Thomas, McLennan Community College

Human Body

2nd Place

Writing Basics
Jan Spinato, Kenai Peninsula College at the University of Alaska

writing basics

3rd Place

Nutrition and Cardiovascular Disease
Lisa Ferris and Dr. Arlo Kahn, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences


Honorable mentions

American Government (Self-Paced)
Sheryne Southard, Clayton State University

MAT 155 Statistical Analysis-What’s the Message
Lisa Cooley, Piedmont Community College

Polynomial Functions
Phillip Clark, Scottsdale Community College

Introduction to Linear Functions
Jan Spinato, Kenai Peninsula College at the University of Alaska

The Muscular System
Shannon Thomas, McLennan Community College


Special thanks to the judges of the Lesson Challenge:

  • Sally Baldwin, Graduate Assistant, Educational Technology, Boise State University
  • Sue Goldman, Staff Development Specialist, State of New Mexico, Environment Department.
  • Dr. Stephen Holland, Professor, Iowa Community College Online Consortium and Course Designer for The University of Iowa
  • Marilyn Larsen, Associate Professor, Mathematics, College of the Mainland
  • Dr. Anne Loochtan, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty, Mercy College of Ohio
  • Jacqueline C. McNair, Program Coordinator, Health Information Technology, Baltimore City Community College
  • Dr. Britt Watwood, Ed.D., Senior Faculty Consultant, Online Teaching and Learning, VCU Center for Teaching Excellence
  • Dr. Kristin Kurtzworth-Keen, Canisius College
  • Lisa Dubuc, Coordinator of Electronic Learning, Niagara County Community College
  • Alli Houston, Senior Development Specialist, Georgia Virtual School, Georgia Department of Education
  • Jillian Jevack, Instructional Designer, Quality Matters Program
  • Walter Barlow, AMTEC Curriculum Director, Kentucky Community & Technical College System
  • Dr. Marya Grande, Canisius College
  • Anna Raumaker, Early Learning Consultant, College of Mainland


Winners from Previous Years:


Start Free Trial