2013 Lesson Challenge

Thank you to everyone who participated in the 2013 SoftChalk Lesson Challenge! The challenge was a big success with 79 wonderful entries. We’re thrilled to announce the three winners and five honorable mentions for 2013:

1st Place

Little Things Mean A Lot
Anna Raumaker, College of the Mainland

Little Things Mean a Lot

2nd Place

Advanced Web Design
Alli Houston, Georgia Virtual School

Advanced Web Design

3rd Place

Physical Examination: Body Positioning
Joshua Farquharson and Kyle Thornthwaite, Allied Health Tools LLC

Physical Examination: Body Positioning

Honorable mentions

SPC-ELL: Identifying Parts of Speech
Judy Macdonald, St. Petersburg College

Waggoner – Plate Tectonics
Karen Waggoner, Midland College

Module 5L
Robert Hiles, Newport-Mesa Unified School District

Human Anatomy and Physiology Chapter 4
Samita Ghoshal, University of Houston Downtown

Distance Learning Instruction Series
Jennifer Gray, Austin Community College

Special thanks to the judges of the Lesson Challenge:

  • Sally Baldwin, Course Developer/Adjunct Professor, Physical Education, Napa Valley College
  • Sue Goldman, Staff Development Specialist, State of New Mexico, Human Services Department
  • Dr. Stephen Holland, Instructional Designer, The University of Iowa; and Online Instructor, Iowa Community College Online Consortium
  • Marilyn Larsen, Associate Professor, Mathematics, College of the Mainland
  • Dr. Anne Loochtan, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty, Mercy College of Ohio
  • Leah MacVie, Instructional Designer, Canisius College
  • Twila Masaschi, Senior Development Specialist, Georgia Department of Education, Office of Technology Services
  • Jacqueline C. McNair, Program Coordinator, Health Information Technology, Baltimore Community College
  • Chris Voelker, K12 Program Manager, Quality Matters Program
  • Karen Walker, LSC Writing and Computer Tutor, St. Petersburg College
  • Dr. Britt Watwood, Ed.D., Senior Faculty Consultant, Online Teaching and Learning, VCU Center for Teaching Excellence

Winners from Previous Years:


Start Free Trial