2011 Lesson Challenge

Thank you to everyone who participated in the 2011 SoftChalk Lesson Challenge!

1st Place
Title: Microbiology Laboratory Manual
Author: Clifton Franklund, Ferris State University

2nd Place
Title: MISSION SoftChalk
Author: Leah MacVie, Canisius College

3rd Place
Title: Nutrition Support Metabolic Stress
Author: Kristin Bartholomew, Valencia Community College

Honorable mentions

Introduction to Differential Equations (Phillip Clark, Scottsdale Community College‚Ä®)

Academic Integrity (
Dianne Jennings, Virginia Commonwealth University)

Special thanks to the judges of the Lesson Challenge:

  • Richard Foster, DMD, Dental Director, Guilford Technical Community College
  • Sue Goldman, HSD, Staff Development Specialist, State of New Mexico
  • Dr. Stephen Holland, Professor, Muscatine Community College
  • Marilyn Larsen, Associate Professor – Dev. Math, College of the Mainland
  • Michelle Leavitt, Director, Product Strategy, NetLearning | Cengage Learning
  • Dr. Anne Loochtan, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty, Mercy College of Northwest Ohio
  • Dr. Christy Low, Chair, Curriculum & Program Development, Quality Matters
  • Twila Masaschi, Development Specialist, Georgia Virtual School
  • Jacqueline C. McNair, Program Coordinator, Health Information Technology, Baltimore City Community College
  • Dr. Britt Watwood, Senior Faculty Consultant, Online Teaching and Learning, VCU Center for Teaching Excellence

Click here to see the 2010 Lesson Challenge Winners

Click here to see the 2009 Lesson Challenge Winners

Go BackReturn to Top